Closet Overhaul: Part 3, Tops (Basics, Blouses, & Sweaters)

 

I have to admit, tops are my #1 downfall when it comes to my wardrobe.  Yes, I have several hanging in my closet but only a few that I really love and so my first instinct when I’m looking for something to wear is to grab one of my basic cotton v-neck tees.  I have them in just about every color (green and yellow are the only ones I’m missing) but because these are the most common staple in my wardrobe I tend to repeat a slight variation of the same outfit nearly every day that I’m not working.  For work, my default is some kind of Plain Jane sweater/camisole combo and I wear this look often.  Boring!

This is going to be the most difficult part of my shopping list for 2011, I think.  I really need to take the time to try on many different types of tops and sweaters to get a sense for what really works well with my shape.  My goal is not to dress trendy but to find classic tops and sweaters that really make an outfit look pulled together, regardless of whether I’m dressing professionally or casual.

Here’s my shopping list for tops (which will likely be edited several times throughout the year):

*crisp, white, button-up
*inexpensive plain white tees
*neutral layering tanks/camis
*several pretty blouses (print, floral, ruffles, etc…it’s all fair game)
*classic, cashmere sweater
*basic boyfriend cardigan
*chunky cable-knit sweater
*long-sleeved chambray button-up?

If I only find one great top all year, I’m keeping my fingers crossed that it will be a lovely white button-up.  I just can’t go wrong with that.  The one thing I dislike about adding some nicer tops to my wardrobe is that many require dry cleaning which can be expensive so I’ll be paying very close attention to the care instructions that come with any top and sweater that I purchase.  I certainly don’t mind owning some dry-clean only items but I’d like to still have several that I can throw in with a regular load of wash.  The chambray top is a question mark for this list.  I like the style and how you can dress it up or dress it down.  I’ve also seen tons of style bloggers wearing chambray button-ups lately (see examples here, here, here, and here) but for whatever reason I’m really not sure if I can rock this look.

Did I forget any essentials??

 

One Response

  1. Oh my gosh, I just want you to know I had no idea what I was going to do with my chambray button-down, but I have worn it so many ways and I absolutely love it now. I think it is in my top 10 items I own. You can totally rock it!
    Thanks for the shout-out, but the way! 🙂

Leave a Reply

