January Shopping Update

Do you remember how I was a little concerned in this post because I had already spent $80+ only 4 days into the month of January?  Well, I’m proud to report that I am currently under budget for the month and have still enjoyed several purchases since my last update.

The girls and I had a wonderful day yesterday perusing the mall and catching up on chit-chat over dinner at Chili’s.  (I had the avocado burger..I rarely crave hamburgers but this one was amazing!  Highly recommended!!)   I had a couple of gift cards/store credits burning a hole in my wallet and I put them to good use.  Here are my finds:

I’ve been loving the look of the infinity/cowl loop scarves lately and fell in love with this one that I found at New York & Company.  It’s lightweight and the color is beautiful.  I paid for this using part of a store credit I had received after returning a set of hair combs that I never ended up wearing on my wedding day.  The original price was $24.95 and I paid $8.63 using the credit.  I also recently purchased a camel colored poncho (no longer available online but see a photo here) using part of my store credit as well.  It was originally $34.95 and I paid $6.51 using the credit.  I’m actually wearing it today with a black long-sleeved Hanes shirt underneath (purchased at Wal-Mart for $6.53) and a pair of dark wash denim.  The outside temp right now is only 6 degrees but I’m feeling very cozy wearing the poncho!

Next, I stopped at Express where I found a couple of pairs of yoga-style fold-over pants.  They are a little long for my short legs but sooo comfy.  I’ll admit that I didn’t really need these but at $12.95 each (originally $29.99 per pair) I couldn’t pass them up.  The first thing I do when I get home from work at the end of the day is change into a pair of comfy lounge pants so I know I’ll get alot of use out of them.

One of our last stops of the day was Banana Republic where all of the sale items were an additional 50% off.  These gorgeous gray suede wedges were easily my best find of the day.  The original price was $120 on these puppies and I paid..wait for it..$19.43 using a gift card.  That’s more than an 80% discount off of the original price!  I was pretty impressed with myself and so was the hubby, even though he thinks I already have more than enough shoes to last a lifetime.  ; )

The only other item I bought yesterday was a Buffalo Bills NFL Apparel hat from Old Navy on mega-clearance for just $1.40 (originally $12.50).  I thought it was a strange thing to find at Old Navy but hubby is just a little obsessed with the Bills so I knew I had to get this for myself to show my support.  We try to get to at least 1 game each season and now I have a hat to wear for early season games as well as a winter hat to wear for cold weather games (gift from MIL last x-mas).

This sweater, from LOFT, was not one of yesterday’s finds but I did pick it up during my lunch break a couple of weeks ago.  The store was having a special $15 sweater promo for just that day and I fell in love with this purple color (the website had it listed as ‘desert mauve’).  It was originally $59 but I ended up paying $16.31 which I thought was a steal.  I’m obsessed with chunky sweaters!

Not including gift card/store credit purchases, my January spending is now at $165.80 of my $200 monthly budget and I don’t anticipate that I’m going to be doing any more shopping before the month ends.  Ok, that’s a lie..there’s one splurge purchase that I am considering (it’s almost tax refund time!) and if I go for it then I am resolving to participate in Kendi’s 30 for 30 remix challenge starting on Feb 1st and not shop for the entire month.  : )

Leave a Reply

